I walk

Every year where I work we hold a fundraiser. It’s an outdoor event where we walk, run or stroll 5-10 kilometres in solidarity with our community. This year I wrote a poem about why I walk. I then hustled together a video for it as a fun experiment. Enjoy.

I choose to walk
I will not rush
I will not
   get there first
   be first in line
   get it right now
I choose art

Art
   is
Dancing
Walking
Glowing
Flowing
   steps forward
   steps backward
   to the side
   to the side

A stumble
A fall
Down you go
and
Art
   is

listening longingly lavishing love
holding you tight
as you fold in
on yourself
granting space

Uh oh.
Oh no.
Not space.
Space is dangerous.
Space is only for
   the rich
   affluent
   cultural czars
who hoard emptiness
and determine
who can distill
ideas into reality

If you don’t command space
If you don’t own a piece
   of the concrete sky
You are forced to fight
day in and day out
just to stay alive
   forget about healing
   forget about thriving
   forget about living
   look forward to dying

And so
I invite you
to walk the slow walk
   of art
   of space
   of healing
   of love

If you have gotten this far, I invite you to contribute as much as you are able to. Just click on the button below. Thank you.

Leave a comment